Skip to content

GEM’s Programs Director & Top Women in Energy leaving GEM for sunny California

August 25, 2015
Sarah Loughran

Sarah Loughran

Sarah Loughran, GEM’s Director of Programs and Stakeholder Relations who joined the program in 2009 before the start of the first cohort of students, will resign in early September.

“Working with you all has been such a privilege, and I have enjoyed my time with you all,” she said. “I’d love to keep in touch and hope to maybe work with you in some capacity again in the future.”

Loughran has helped to transform the program and curriculum. Among her many accomplishments are recruiting more than 15 new professors from around the globe and integrating new courses.

Loughran recruited GEM Marketing Professor Melissa Wood before the second cohort.

“While the merits and quality of the program drew me to join the faculty, it was Sarah’s enthusiasm and passion for this program that truly sealed the deal,” said Wood. “Sarah is a big reason why the GEM program has evolved and become a world-class educational opportunity for energy professionals. She brings with her an unparalleled ability to create a vision and translate it into a reality, never losing sight of what’s most important — the students and faculty.”

“Beyond her expertise and professionalism, I will miss her wit and kind heart. Although, it’s not ‘goodbye.’ She can’t shake me that easily because I consider her a true friend.”

Loughran has also led efforts to develop the GEM Competency Model to integrate the competency expectations of a new GEM graduate into corporate career development.

The Denver Business Journal recently selected her as a Top Women in Energy Leader. She was among 40 women who were selected as key influencers in metro Denver’s energy sector.

“I’m so sorry to see Sarah leave us even while I’m thrilled for her bright future,” said GEM Finance Professor Mike Orlando. “Sarah was the first person I met on the GEM staff. She was exceedingly courteous and capable in bringing me onboard and helping me to contribute to the GEM program over the years.”

Loughran’s husband was offered an outstanding new opportunity based in San Clemente, California this spring, and it was an offer that they couldn’t pass up.

“While I have been working in a remote capacity for GEM the last several months, I feel the time has come to tender my resignation,” Loughran said. “As a Colorado native, it was heartbreaking for me to leave the mountains. However, our new home has an ocean view and a yard full of citrus trees – so I’m starting to come around.”

Loughran’s last day at the GEM Program will be Sept. 4.

“She is always so accommodating and helpful – professional, but very sweet,” said GEM Professor and alumnus Ralph Cantafio. “I know we are all going to miss her, but I think we are all so happy for her and her family.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

