Skip to content

GEM’s Gem founds company to connect US and Latin American energy sectors (Norma Mozee)

February 17, 2015
Norma Mozee

Norma Mozee

GEM’s Gem funds company to connect United States and Latin American energy sectors GEM graduate Norma Mozee recently founded Afinidad Americas, LLC, a consulting company that creates collaborations between the United States and Latin America in the energy sector.

“I’m focused on opportunities emerging from Mexico’s recent energy reform and have been working cross-border with energy industry business executives, government officials, and universities on alignment for mutual benefit,” she said. “It’s thrilling that some of the few remaining largest untapped energy reserves are just a three hour plane ride away.”

Mozee pursued a degree from the Global Energy Management Program to differentiate herself from other professionals with MBAs.

“My other goal was to steer my career direction into the energy industry since I missed out the first time after I graduated with my B.S. from the Colorado School Mines,” she said. “I was also working full time and traveling frequently to Latin America so I needed a program that fit my rigorous travel schedule. Finally, due to GEM’s global focus, the trip to London during the international elective gave me the opportunity to experience energy perspectives ‘beyond our borders.’ GEM offered that perfect balance.”

Mozee said that GEM gave her confidence and a “credibility stripe” to open the doors to her energy industry career. She was able to land a job in the energy industry within a couple of months of graduating from GEM, and the program opened an incredible network of contacts. Her post-GEM career has steered her towards several interesting energy industry paths.

“I’m taking some entrepreneurial risk and testing the waters as an independent,” she said. “It’s both daunting and exhilarating, but I feel anchored to the network of colleagues and friends I met during GEM, and that I continue to maintain. So, whichever way this ride goes, I have confidence that my GEM ties are a lifeboat.”

What do you enjoy most about working in the energy industry?

I enjoy that energy is global, it’s fundamental, and it’s increasingly becoming a platform for dramatic geopolitical dynamics.

What were some of your favorite things to do during cohort weekends?

I was in Cohort II and enjoyed re-connecting with my fellow GEM colleagues during cohort weekends. I live in Denver, and, at the time I attended GEM, we all had to stay at the Westin in downtown Denver during cohort weekends which, as a local, I thought was an unnecessary expense. But, looking back, it gave us a nice hub for all of us GEM folks to reconnect without distractions. It was like one giant slumber party that lasted 18 months.

What are some of the things that you never forgot to bring to cohort weekends?

My alarm clock.

Please share a story about GEM that will entertain other students.

There are some rock stars in the energy industry, and, I for one, get a little star struck. I’d say one of the highlights for me was meeting Daniel Yergin. I attended a speaking engagement where he had the room of 200 people spellbound as he shared his compelling insights and experiences advising captains of industry, heads of government, and ministers of energy. Just as he was leaving, I caught up to him and, like a “groupie,” asked for his autograph. I shared with him the fact that I was in the GEM master’s degree program. To this day, I open up my autographed page of The Quest when I need a little inspiration.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

