Skip to content

GEM’s Gems June 2014 – Jonathan Wente

June 16, 2014

The GEM’s Gem we are honoring this month is Jonathan Wente, Surface Land Manager for Encana Oil & Gas (USA) Inc.’s Western Operations.

Jonathan Wente

Jonathan Wente

Wente is fascinated by the energy industry. He enrolled in the GEM Program because he wanted a learning environment filled with dynamic people who had varied experiences in the energy industry.

“GEM created a niche degree that catered to dedicated individuals who would like to remain working while obtaining a master’s degree,” he said. “After reviewing MBA programs and other energy industry degrees, GEM’s curriculum really stood out as the most challenging and diverse education focused on the energy industry, so it was an easy choice.”

Wente, 30, was a member of the GEM Program’s Cohort VI. During cohort weekends, he enjoyed the opportunity to embrace other individuals’ points of view, further his understanding of other energy industries, and explore the many factors that impact oil & gas.

“The GEM Program broadened my horizons and expanded my network of industry professionals,” Wente said. “GEM increased my organizational awareness and sharpened my leadership skills, which continues to benefit me, not only in my day-to-day work, but also in my new role as a Surface Land Manager. The program provided me with a foundational understanding of other energy industries outside of oil and gas and how they are both interconnected and co-dependent.”

The GEM Program would also like to congratulate Wente on his recent engagement to Alison Eastley!

Briefly describe your current role and responsibilities.
I manage Encana’s surface land negotiations in Colorado and Wyoming, including the negotiation of surface use agreements, road and pipeline right-of-ways, and facility agreements. My department also continually works to engage external stakeholders who live and work in the communities in which Encana operates to protect our social license to operate.

What do you enjoy most about working in the energy industry?
The energy industry is the most complex market in the world. It presents the greatest opportunity to increase the standard of living throughout the world and faces the great challenge of needing to balance economics, science, politics, and environmental externalities in order to produce competition within the market, drive ingenuity, and push industry to new limits for a better future.

How has the GEM program benefited you?
The GEM Program broadened my horizons and expanded my network of industry professionals. GEM increased my organizational awareness and sharpened my leadership skills, which continues to benefit me, not only in my day-to-day work, but also in my new role as a Surface Land Manager. The program provided me with a foundational understanding of other energy industries outside of oil and gas and how they are both interconnected and co-dependent.

What were some of your favorite things to do during cohort weekends?
I enjoyed discussing the challenges that my peers face within their respective positions/careers and, in some cases, identifying potential solutions to the great challenges we face. Our cohort weekends provided a great opportunity to embrace a different point of view, further my understanding of other energy industries, and understand how other energy industries can impact oil and gas.

Why did you choose the GEM program at CU Denver?
I chose GEM because I am fascinated by the energy industry, and I wanted to learn with a dynamic group of people with different experiences in the energy industry. GEM created a niche degree that catered to dedicated individuals who would like to remain working while obtaining a master’s degree. After reviewing MBA programs and other energy industry degrees, GEM’s curriculum really stood out as the most challenging and diverse education focused on the energy industry, so it was an easy choice.

 

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

