Skip to content

GEM’s Gems November 2013 – Jennifer Livermore

November 15, 2013

Jennifer LivermoreThe GEM’s Gem we are honoring this month credits the GEM Program for helping her land her dream job.

Jennifer Livermore, 29, a member of Cohort VIII, is an electromagnetics geoscientist at NEOS GeoSolutions.

“The GEM program has encouraged me to investigate facets of the energy industry that I had no prior experience with, enabling a deeper understanding of the complexity of energy development both domestically and abroad,” she said. “I have gained an entirely new skill set that is relevant, practical, and highly valuable as a professional in the energy industry.”

NEOS GeoSolutions is a start-up company that Livermore has admired since its inception due to its emphasis on multi-measurement interpretation. The company’s integrated approach incorporates multiple geophysical techniques in order to reduce the ambiguity intrinsic to individual geophysical data sets and enable a robust interpretation of the subsurface.

At the URTeC conference in Denver in August 2013, Livermore attended a NEOS presentation and met several members of the NEOS team. Livermore was contacted by NEOS GeoSolutions for an interview on the last GEM cohort weekend, during one of the breaks from class.

“I was extremely excited about the opportunity; my classmates and professors provided support, career advice, and references to assist me into the next phase of my career,” she said. “I am grateful for their assistance and friendship. My position as an EM geoscientist with NEOS GeoSolutions is my ideal position because I am able to continue working with electromagnetic data as well as learn about airborne data processing techniques, while living near my friends and family in my home state of Colorado.

“Additionally, I have the opportunity to apply the new skill set I have learned from the GEM program to the overall growth and development of the company. I can’t wait to get started.”

Briefly describe your current role and responsibilities.
I joined the electromagnetics (EM) team at NEOS GeoSolutions this November as a geoscientist and I will be assisting in the data processing, modeling, and interpretation of airborne and surface EM data. These data will be integrated into a multi-measurement subsurface interpretation in conjunction with gravity, magnetic, hyperspectral, radiometric, and well log data. The resultant constrained 3D model of the subsurface will assist in the delineation of oil & gas, mineral, and geothermal resources.

How has the GEM program benefited you?
The GEM program has encouraged me to investigate facets of the energy industry that I had no prior experience with, enabling a deeper understanding of the complexity of energy development both domestically and abroad. I have gained an entirely new skill set that is relevant, practical, and highly valuable as a professional in the energy industry.

What were some of your favorite things to do during cohort weekends?
Cohort weekends were a great opportunity to get to know my fellow classmates in Season 8. I would have to say that going to the speakeasies in Denver after class in the evenings is always a good idea.

What are some of the things that you never forgot to bring to cohort weekends?
Coffee. Five-hour energy. Endurance.

 Please share a story about GEM that will entertain other students.
During the first quarter of GEM, I traveled to Iceland to attend a conference about the business aspects of geothermal energy development. The first day of the conference included a field trip to the Hellisheidi geothermal power plant where we had the opportunity to observe steam venting from a geothermal well- now that is an experience I will never forget! The evening before this field trip I was compiling my portion of a group assignment on carbon capture and sequestration (CCS) and was awake into the wee hours of the morning completing this research paper. After the field trip the next day, a few of us from the conference went to dinner and the topic of CCS was brought up in conversation. I was not only able to contribute to the conversation, but also to hold a friendly debate on this topic amongst the table. I did not have that depth of knowledge of CCS prior to the GEM program, or even a week before this conversation! The next morning, one of the gentlemen from that conversation stood up as one of the presenters at the conference. It turns out he was the CCS Analyst for Bloomberg New Energy Finance in London! My jaw dropped to the floor. This is only one of many coincidences and practical applications of GEM knowledge I have experienced over the past 18 months.

Is there anything else you would like to add?
Thank you GEM faculty, staff, and Season 8 for everything!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

