Skip to content

GEM’s Gems November 2013 – Navneet Singh

November 1, 2013
Navneet Singh

Navneet Singh

This month, we would like to honor Navneet Singh, a current student in Cohort X, as the November GEM’s GEM.  Singh, a senior engineer at Ontario’s Independent Electricity System, was delighted to discover how quickly the GEM curriculum began expanding her perspective on the energy industry.

My work experience after completing my undergrad has been solely in the electricity sector,” she said. “The GEM Program has opened up a whole new world for me. There are so many aspects of the energy industry that I had not been exposed to before the GEM Program. GEM has given me a new understanding of how the different sectors of the energy industry impact one another. It has also given me the opportunity to learn from a cohort full of bright and passionate individuals from different areas in the industry.”

Singh currently works in the Compliance and Support department of the Operations division.

“I enjoy working in the energy industry and hope to make an impact on the industry at a higher level,” she said. “The decision to go back to school is a major one, especially with a program such as GEM, where you will be required to balance work, school, and your personal life. It will really test your time management skills, but the people you will meet, the experiences you will have, and the knowledge you will gain will be worth it.”

Briefly describe your current role and responsibilities.
I currently work in the Compliance and Support department within the Operations Division. The team I work on is responsible for ensuring the Operations Division remains compliant with the North American Electric Reliability Corporation (NERC) reliability standards and Northeast Power Coordinating Council, Inc. (NPCC) reliability criteria. We ensure compliance by performing gap analysis, improving processes, monitoring compliance activities, and supporting assessment of non-compliance events and preparation of compliance self-reporting.

How has the GEM program benefited you and your company?
The GEM program has given me opportunities to work on skills that I apply at work daily. Working in teams and having the chance to lead assignments and projects have been instrumental in developing my teamwork and leadership skills. The program provides many opportunities to hone your communication skills, and the professors do a great job at providing feedback on where you can improve. It has also improved my approach to solving problems at work by seeing the bigger picture.

What are some of your favorite things to do during cohort weekends?
My favorite thing to do during cohort weekends is really just spending time with and getting to know my cohort outside of the classroom. The local students have been really great about taking us “out-of-towners” to different restaurants and pubs.  I hope to explore more of Colorado during the next few cohort weekends.

What are some of the things that you never forgot to bring to cohort weekends?
My workout clothes – I try to utilize the hotel gyms and facilities as much as possible, and also Denver has some really nice places to go for runs. I`m always grabbing caffeinated drinks from Starbucks (necessity when you are in class for 10 hours a day), and luckily there seems to be a Starbucks on every corner in downtown Denver.

Please share a story about GEM that will entertain other students.
Being the only Canadian in a classroom with a group of non-Canadians can be fun!  I may have gotten a little excited in class when one of the professors was talking about the population of Canada and was a little off (he knocked off about 1/3 of the population). Also, some of my classmates seem to think Canadians speak a certain way! I don’t know what they are talking aboot, eh.

Why did you choose the GEM Program at CU Denver?
I enjoy working in the energy industry and hope to make an impact on the industry at a higher level. It’s an industry that is constantly evolving and is in need of strong leaders. The GEM Program caught my eye because it has the right balance between business and technical curriculum and is focused on creating leaders in the energy industry.

Has GEM changed your perspective? If so, how so?
Definitely. I had worked a couple of summers as a student in the Ministry of Natural Resources and had started to learn a little about the oil and gas sector in Ontario. My work experience after completing my undergrad has been solely in the electricity sector. The GEM Program has opened up a whole new world for me.  There are so many aspects of the energy industry that I had not been exposed to before the GEM program. GEM has given me a new understanding of how the different sectors of the energy industry impact one another. It has also given me the opportunity to learn from a cohort full of bright and passionate individuals from different areas in the industry.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

